Monday, November 13, 2006

Senator Kennedy responds?

I posted the following blog on October 11, 2006.

I am sending a letter to members of the Senate Judiciary Committee. The letter is tonight’s post.

To the Honorable Senator

I write a political blog: On October 10, 2006 I wrote about an article that appeared in our local paper that morning. It stated that the Judiciary Committee was considering a shield law to allow reporters to withhold the source of stories that are published. The example given in the article was the disclosure of secret grand-jury testimony by two reporters that has now resulted in their being given jail time for refusing to reveal their source of that secret testimony. The purpose of my commentary was to refute the arguments given in the original news story. I have enclosed the material which incorporates both the original article and my comments.

I have these two basis questions for the Judiciary Committee members. Why would the Senate want to permit anyone who has violated a federal law to be protected from prosecution for that violation? Why would the Senate want to allow individuals who are purposely withholding vital information for that prosecution to decide for themselves what can be withheld and what can not be withheld? If the federal law dealing with grand-jury testimony (or any similar law) is not valid, change the law! If it is valid, why would the Senate want to allow select individuals (i.e., reporters) to decide for themselves when a valid law should be ignored and when it should be enforced. It does not make sense to me! Why should media personnel have that kind of discretionary choice and power? I would appreciate an answer because I’m sure others have the same concern.

I will post on my blog any and all replies I receive. I will, no doubt, comment on each reply sent. I will also note on my blog those who have not responded. (As with a Supreme Court decision, if members wish to sign off on a position presented by another member, I will identify that action as having occurred.) I would suggest that at the minimum, the two basis questions be answered. Please don’t attempt to skirt the questions. I will point out the techniques employed in your response(s). An example of my comments to a letter from a Senator, my own Senator Durbin, can be found on my blog ( It was posted on Saturday, June 10, 2006 and is entitled “Senator Durbin Responds.” (It may be listed on the blog as Sunday the 11th—the blog does not give the time and date as I actually physically do the posting.)

I realize we are nearing the end of the current election cycle. Therefore, I will begin posting on November 13, 2006. Thank you for your consideration of this matter.

Have any of the current members of the Judiciary Committee responded? I received a letter from Senator Edward Kennedy last week. What did he have to say in relation to my two questions? NOTHING! The letter was a reply about immigration which I discussed on the blog in May and June. To be honest, I don’t remember what I specifically sent to Senator Kennedy although it may have been a copy of the post on June 6th entitled “The Kennedy Test.” In that blog I suggested he donate some of his property to selected illegals before donating the United States to illegals. If the letter was a response to that post, he did not mention the test. One night I may post his response, but not tonight.

I have received nothing from the other Judiciary Committee members. If I do and it took Senator Kennedy five months to reply to immigration, I will post them. Until then, no committee member has answered my questions. Although the membership will change in January slightly because of the election, the current members of the Judicial Committee include:


Patrick Leahy >>>>>> Vermont
Edward Kennedy >>>>> Massachusetts
Joseph Biden, Jr. >> Delaware
Herbert Kohl >>>>>>> Wisconsin
Dianne Feinstein >>> California
Russell Feingold >>> Wisconsin
Charles Schumer >>>> New York
Richard Durbin >>>>> Illinois


Arlen Specter >>>>>> Pennsylvania
Orrin Hatch >>>>>>>> Utah
Charles Grassley >>> Iowa
Jon Kyl >>>>>>>>>>>> Arizona
Mike DeWine >>>>>>>> Ohio
Jeff Sessions >>>>>> Alabama
Lindsey Graham >>>>> South Carolina
John Cornyn >>>>>>>> Texas
Sam Brownback >>>>>> Kansas
Tom Coburn >>>>>>>>> Oklahoma

I will let you know if any members eventually respond. Stay tuned.


Post a Comment

<< Home