Friday, February 04, 2011

Amendment vote to repeal the job-killing health care law

I’m now into my series on the MURDER of unborn babies. I will interrupt the series as needed, as I am doing today, with the amendment vote for ending nationalized healthcare. A vote that demonstrates a major difference between Democrats and Republicans. One party votes for federal control and power. One party votes for free enterprise, freedom of choice, and the U.S. Constitution.


112th Congress (2011-2012)
S. Amdt. 13

S. AMDT.13
Amends: S.223

Sponsor: Senator McConnell, Mitch [KY] (submitted 2/1/2011) (proposed 2/1/2011)


To repeal the job-killing health care law and health care-related provisions in the Health Care and Education Reconciliation Act of 2010.




Amendment SA 13 proposed by Senator McConnell. (consideration CR S382-405; text: CR S382)


Considered by Senate. (Consideration: CR S434, S474-475)


Point of order raised in Senate with respect to Amendment SA 13


Motion to waive all applicable budget discipline with respect to amendment SA 13 rejected in Senate by Yea-Nay Vote 47-51. Record Vote Number: 9.


U.S. Senate Roll Call Votes 112th Congress—1st Session
as compiled through Senate LIS by the Senate Bill Clerk under the direction of the Secretary of the Senate

Vote Summary

Question: On the Motion (Motion to Waive All Applicable Budgetary Discipline Re: McConnell Amdt. No. 13 )

Vote Number: 9 Vote Date: February 2, 2011, 06:05 PM

Required For Majority: 3/5 (Note: this vote needed 60 votes so some Democrats could have voted for this but chose NOT to! Remember this come the election of 2012!—my addition)

Vote Result: Motion Rejected

Amendment Number: S.Amdt. 13 to S. 223 (FAA Air Transportation Modernization and Safety Improvement Act)

Statement of Purpose: To repeal the job-killing health care law and health care-related provisions in the Health Care and Education Reconciliation Act of 2010.

Vote Counts:

YEAs 47
NAYs 51
Not Voting 2

Grouped By Vote Position


Alexander (R-TN)
Ayotte (R-NH)
Barrasso (R-WY)
Blunt (R-MO)
Boozman (R-AR)
Brown (R-MA)
Burr (R-NC)
Chambliss (R-GA)
Coats (R-IN)
Coburn (R-OK)
Cochran (R-MS)
Collins (R-ME)
Corker (R-TN)
Cornyn (R-TX)
Crapo (R-ID)
DeMint (R-SC)
Ensign (R-NV)
Enzi (R-WY)
Graham (R-SC)
Grassley (R-IA)
Hatch (R-UT)
Hoeven (R-ND)
Hutchison (R-TX)
Inhofe (R-OK)
Isakson (R-GA)
Johanns (R-NE)
Johnson (R-WI)
Kirk (R-IL)
Kyl (R-AZ)
Lee (R-UT)
Lugar (R-IN)
McCain (R-AZ)
McConnell (R-KY)
Moran (R-KS)
Murkowski (R-AK)
Paul (R-KY)
Portman (R-OH)
Risch (R-ID)
Roberts (R-KS)
Rubio (R-FL)
Sessions (R-AL)
Shelby (R-AL)
Snowe (R-ME)
Thune (R-SD)
Toomey (R-PA)
Vitter (R-LA)
Wicker (R-MS)


Akaka (D-HI)
Baucus (D-MT)
Begich (D-AK)
Bennet (D-CO)
Bingaman (D-NM)
Blumenthal (D-CT)
Boxer (D-CA)
Brown (D-OH)
Cantwell (D-WA)
Cardin (D-MD)
Carper (D-DE)
Casey (D-PA)
Conrad (D-ND)
Coons (D-DE)
Durbin (D-IL)
Feinstein (D-CA)
Franken (D-MN)
Gillibrand (D-NY)
Hagan (D-NC)
Harkin (D-IA)
Inouye (D-HI)
Johnson (D-SD)
Kerry (D-MA)
Klobuchar (D-MN)
Kohl (D-WI)
Landrieu (D-LA)
Lautenberg (D-NJ)
Leahy (D-VT)
Levin (D-MI)
Manchin (D-WV)
McCaskill (D-MO)
Menendez (D-NJ)
Merkley (D-OR)
Mikulski (D-MD)
Murray (D-WA)
Nelson (D-FL)
Nelson (D-NE)
Pryor (D-AR)
Reed (D-RI)
Reid (D-NV)
Rockefeller (D-WV)
Sanders (I-VT) [caucuses with the Democrats; votes with the Democrats; is a declared socialist]
Schumer (D-NY)
Shaheen (D-NH)
Stabenow (D-MI)
Tester (D-MT)
Udall (D-CO)
Udall (D-NM)
Webb (D-VA)
Whitehouse (D-RI)
Wyden (D-OR)

Not Voting—2 (Same as voting Nay!)

Lieberman (ID-CT)
Warner (D-VA)